North Scottish Golfers Alliance
North Scottish Golfers' Alliance

NSGA Secretary

Alan Cowie
North Scottish Golfers' Alliance
8 Stotfield Court,
Moray, IV31 6UA

Tel/Fax: +44(0)1343 812241
Mobile: 07875908023 (7am to 6pm on fixture days)


2016/2017 Season


North Scottish Golfers' Alliance
Brief History

The North Scottish Golfers Alliance was formed in 1947 by members of Golf Clubs from the Moray, Nairn and Inverness areas with a view to giving Professionals, Assistant Professionals and Amateur golfers the challenge of playing competitive golf, during the winter months between October and March, on some of the most testing golf courses in the area.

It was also formed with a view to giving the local professionals some income over the winter months through the redemption of vouchers won at the competitions.

The North Scottish Golfers Alliance is one of five members of the Scottish Golfers Alliance. Others are North East, East, Midlands and West Alliance.

Winter golf this far north in Scotland has its own unique challenges of wind , weather and testing golfing conditions but the keen members of the alliance ensure that these are met and that friends and contacts are made with golfers for other clubs in the area.

The competition element is strong and members play for an overall winner in the scratch, handicaps 0 to 7 and 8 to 18 sections which is decided by the best 6 round aggregate scores over the year excluding the championship.  The championship is the last competition held in the year and goes on a rotation around the host clubs.

The Alliance is open to Professionals and Assistants Professionals from host clubs and amateurs with a handicap of 18 or below.

  Fixtures - 2016/2017

Start Times for All Fixtures
8am to 1pm (unless otherwise stated)

 Fixtures for 2016/2017 Season:- 

Date Course
1st October 2016 Garmouth
8th October 2016 Moray (New)
15th October 2016 Grantown
22nd October 2016 Boat of Garten
29th October 2016 Torvean
5th November 2016 Forres
12th November 2016 Nairn Dunbar
26th November 2016 Muir of Ord
28th January 2017 Spey Bay 
4th February 2017 Fortrose & Rosemarkie
11th February 2017 Moray (Old)
25th February 2017 Hopeman
4th March 2017 Elgin
18th March 2017 Inverness (Championship)





 Players Noticeboard

 North Scottish Golfers' Alliance - 2016/17


Use the above header tabs to navigate the site for further information on the N.S.G.A.

  Results 2016/2017

Click on the results tab at the top of this page for the latest scores and results.



North Scottish Golfers' Alliance Champions 2006 to 2016




G Hay




Fortrose & Rosemarkie





 B Fotheringham

J L Milne

B R Fotheringham

B R Fotheringham








Nairn Dunbar

2011 K Thomson   Moray Inverness
2010 R.Harrower  Boat of Garten Fortrose & Rosemarkie
2009 B.R.Fotheringham  Forres Forres
2008 K.W.Stables  Elgin Elgin
2007 B.R.Fotheringham  Forres Moray
2006 J.S.D.Campbell  Grantown on   Spey Nairn Dunbar



Click here to access details of NSGA Champions 1950 onwards